Quick PSA, by way of one of my friends who actually knows something* about this:

When companies publish software updates and security patches, hackers (not the good kind) can run a diff on the old software versus the new (patched) software and see just what hole the company was patching. They can then take advantage of that knowledge and attack computers that haven’t been updated yet; aka, the systems where someone has pressed “Not Now” instead of “Continue.”

TL;DR: Go update your computer. It’s at higher risk now that the patch has been published. (And, if you have a Mac, you might want to check to make sure you don’t have the Flashback Trojan.)

*Though I am a computer science student, I know very little about computer security. This info comes from a friend who is paid by Penn to break into things.

Comments

comments

Powered by Facebook Comments